The fourth-leading all-time rusher will have to wait until 2012 for Hall of Fame enshrinement. And that’s a damn shame. On Saturday afternoon, the veterans’ committee announced that five players who will be inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame. Ex-Jet running back, Curtis Martin, will not be one of those five.

Martin played eleven seasons for the New York Jets, collecting 14,101 rushing yards. Only Emmitt Smith, Walter Payton, and Barry Sanders have out-rushed Martin. Martin wasn’t known for his dominance, rather his dependability and toughness. Fellow running back, Jerome Bettis did not make the Hall in his first-attempt, either.

First-timers, Deion Sanders and Marshall Faulk will be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Tight end Shannon Sharpe, defensive end Richard Dent, and NFL films founder, Ed Sabol will also be inducted.

Fun Fact: 65 out of 270 Hall of Famers have been inducted on their first vote.