With roughly twenty games remaining this season, let’s take a look at the Cy Young picture in both leagues. I’m not going to list names, but rather list stat lines and you be the judge of which players should take the award. Name values often weigh heavily in the minds of voters, so for this article, let’s remove that completely and look at this objectively.

Not to kill any suspense, but last year’s winners Tim Lincecum (13-9, 3.69 ERA, 199 Ks) and Zack Greinke (8-12, 3.90 ERA, 159 Ks) do not figure into the running this season.


Pick Your Pony:
American League:

Player A: 17-6, 2.87 ERA, 163 Ks, 178 innings (1.23 WHIP)

Player B: 19-6, 3.14 ERA, 170 Ks, 209 innings (1.21 WHIP)

Player C: 11-10, 2.30 ERA, 209 Ks, 219 innings (1.09 WHIP)

Player D: 15-6, 2.25 ERA, 103 Ks, 153 innings (1.19 WHIP)

Pick Your Pony:
National League:

Player A: 18-6, 2.79 ERA, 178 Ks, 190 innings (1.15 WHIP)

Player B: 17-10, 2.36 ERA, 196 Ks, 223 innings (1.05 WHIP)

Player C: 17-10, 2.34 ERA, 184 Ks, 200 innings (1.03 WHIP)

Player D: 11-6, 2.30 ERA, 186 Ks, 183 innings (1.11 WHIP)

Player E: 14-5, 2.21 ERA, 170 Ks, 162 innings (0.96 WHIP)

**Answers at bottom of Article

So which player in each league is most deserving of the award? Post your answer below.



**These stats are as of Thursday September 9th.

AL:A: David Price, B: CC Sabathia, C: Felix Hernandez, D: Clay Buchholz

NL: A: Ubaldo Jimenez, B: Roy Halladay, C: Adam Wainwright, D: Josh Johnson, E: Mat Latos