Tonight , one of my favorites yearly contests will take place. Eight sluggers, four from each league, will take their hacks during the 2010 State Farm Home Run Derby. This year will be a little different though. The field will feature five first-time entrants. More interestingly, none of the eight contestants have ever won the Derby. Let the games begin…


The National League will send three, first-timers to the dish. Chris Young (Diamondbacks), Hanley Ramirez (Marlins), and Corey Hart (Brewers) will look to make their mark. From the American League, first timers, Nick Swisher (Yankees) and Vernon Wells (Blue Jays) will be ready to crush some home runs.

Miguel Cabrera (Tigers) and Matt Holliday (Cardinals) are both back for their second derbies. Neither of these players made it passed the first round in their first derby.

David Ortiz (Red Sox) has already competed in four home run derbies, but Big Papi has never won. Ortiz is enjoying a Renaissance season (17 HRs) after only managing to hit 28 last season.

My Prediction: I gotta go with Swish. Of the eight participants, Swisher is the most relaxed player. Expect him to get in there and start driving home runs. Miguel Cabrera is a trendy pick, but Swish is taking the cake!

Who do ya got?!